When adjudicating the candidates and awarding Prizes the Jury must take into account artistic as well as instrumental aspects of the performances.

After assessment of the candidate's artistic and instrumental standard as demonstrated through the varied repertoire of the rounds, the individual Juror votes for the candidates who, up to the time of voting, in his or her opinion are the best qualified. It is thus the individual candidate's overall performance throughout the competition that must always be taken into account.

By voting it should be not taken to consideration any other aspects like; gender, age, nationality or earlier achievements. Only the actual performance on this competition should be taken to the consideration.

All prizes should be awarded. No prizes may be shared.


1. The Jurors will vote independently and may not discuss the performances before or during the voting procedure.  
2. Jurors may not communicate with any active participant.  
3 The vote of a Juror will be taken into account only if he or she has heard all performances of the complete round. The Management of the Competition has the right to make exceptions to this rule. If a member of the jury, with approval of the Management of the Competition, was not present during the performance(s) of one/several competitor(s), this member of the jury will henceforward be disqualified regarding this/these Competitor(s).

The ballots must be signed by the Jurors. After each voting the Chairman collects and counts the ballots, ensuring that they are duly signed.
Competitions board will count the votes and give to the Chairman to control.

 4. Any Juror who has on a regular basis has being the main piano teacher of any of the candidates may not judge this candidate.  Because the results will be published

5. Voting procedure: Round 1.

Each jury member votes YES or NO.  10 candidates with the most YES votes will be qualified to the round 2. In case of same amount of votes, Chairman will make the decision.

Round 2:

Each of the jury members will place all candidates in order of their preference.  


The 10 candidates with the lowest overage point- will be advinced to the semifinals.  After all points are counted- Chairman informs the jury member about the results and in case of any inconvenient – open discussion will be taken.

In case of the similar points final decision will be made by discussion.
Votes what differs from the majority on the very large scale – more than 10 points will be taken away.
In the case of conflict or unclear situations the chairman has a right to make a control vote.

6 candidates with the lowest overage point are advancing to the finals.  Open discussion may happen after all votes has being collected.

 Preselection Finals and Finals results will happen trough the open discussion. If the necessary decision will be not possible to make trough the discussion- the jury will vote in the same way like in the previous rounds.  In case of unclear situations Chairman will make the decision.

Should two or more candidates receive the same number of qualifying votes, a separate ballot or discussion will be held. If it will not be possible to get the right decision, chairman will make the final decision.

 All votes will be public. However the jury member name will be not mentioned together with the votes.

 6.  Special prizes should be awarded.  It will be announced soon.

 However the special prizes should be not awarded to any of the top 3 finalists.

Special prizes are decided trough open discussion in the jury group.

Very important! Jury will take notes and be ready for giving the comments to all participants who did not pass forward. Be very aware of each of the participants performance and the their program.
After each round results is announced- Jury will have the official time to give the comments. And it will happen in the café downstairs of the big hall.

 After each of the preliminary rounds the names of the candidates that proceed further are made public in performance order.

If a member of the jury does not participate in the competition, for example on account of ”Force Majeure”, the Management has the possibility to appoint a new member of the jury immediately.  

The decision of the Jury is final and cannot be appealed.  

Jury 2019:


ROund 1, Semi finals, Pre-Finals & Finals:

Prof. Leslie Howard, President of the jury

Prof. Alexey Lebedev, Professor at the Kyungsung University in Busan, South Korea

Prof. Eliane Reyes, Professor at Conservatoire Royal de Bruxelles

Eric Schoones, ​Editor in Chief at Pianist Magazine

Akemi Alink, Pianist, Board Member of Alink- Argerich Foundation
joining jury from Semifinal:
Johannes Nebel, Founder Opus magazine & Manager at Eliasson Artist Management
joining jury in the Finals:
Johannes Gustavsson, Chief conductor at Wermland Opera.